Since 1997, each year during Congress, the YoBos (Young Booksellers) choose the Booksellers International Book of the Year (BIBY). What kind of title should the BIBY be? It should be a fairly new book, i.e. it should have been published during the past five years. It should be translated into other languages, at least in two. And, most importantly, it should be a title which we love and which we like to sell. Also, we should think it to be a long selling title. The title that is going to be the winner aims to be a well-known prize in the booktrade. The publisher of the recent BIBY will also be informed. The titles on the shortlist are nominated by any YoBo. You can also nominate books by leaving a comment:

Last years’ winners were:
1997: Jostein Gaarder, Sofie’s World
1998: Alessandro Baricco, Silk
1999: Paulo Coelho, The Alchemist
2000: L. de Bernières, Captain Corelli’s Mandoline
2001: Jean M. Coetzee, Disgrace
2002: Sandor Maraí; Embers
2004: Ian McEwan, Atonement
2005: Eve Makis, Eat, Drink and Be Married
2006: Carlos Ruiz Zafón, Shadow of the Wind
2007: The Canine Kalevala
2008: Markus Zusak, The Book Thief
2009: Andrew Davidson, Gargoyle


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: